Ir para o conteúdo

Thin logo

WSL 2018


WSL network

 Voltar a 2012
Tela cheia

Call for Papers

4 de Maio de 2012, 0:00 , por Software Livre Brasil - | Ninguém está seguindo este artigo ainda.
Visualizado 2283 vezes


The International Free Software Workshop (WSL) is an academic and scientific event of annual basis which is part of the International Free Software Forum (FISL). It takes place since 2000 in Porto Alegre, Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil. In its 13th year, the WSL has the support of the Brazilian Computer Society (SBC) and remains aligned with the goals of FISL, taking place from July 25 to 28, 2012. In particular, for the edition of 2012, WSL will emphasize papers with results about the free software ecosystem, offering the opportunity for professors, researchers, students and other professionals to present scientific works developed in their research centers, companies or universities that use, produce, share, disseminate and/or think free software.

Topics of Interest

Authors are invited to submit papers containing novel results from scientific work (finished or in progress) related to the ecosystem and the development of free software, in all areas of information technology, computer science and the humanities. Works addressing the process to produce free software, both from technical and humanities viewpoint are also welcome. For WSL 2012, there isn't a strict list of topics of interest in order to not reduce the submission of free software related work in the various technical and social areas. Just as examples of topics of interest, according to the expectations of papers for the WSL 2012, there are:

  • Critical analysis on legal, management, economic and social aspects of the free software ecosystem;
  • Quantitative and qualitative evaluation of source code of free software projects;
  • Automatic gathering, analysis and data mining of free software projects;
  • Dynamicity of the free software communities;
  • Studies on project (eg, and data (eg FLOSSmole) repositories;
  • Studies on the commercial exploitation of free software;
  • Tools to support software development with a focus on the needs of free software developers;
  • Research methodology, education and development using free software.

Information for Authors

  • Papers should be written in English (preferably), Portuguese or Spanish.
  • Papers should have a maximum length of 12 printed pages, including abstract, figures and references.
  • Papers must follow the SBC format.
  • The submissions must be in PDF (Portable Document Format)
  • The submissions of papers will be exclusively online through

Papers will be evaluated by reviewers with experience in the topics of interest, considering the technical content and relevance of the work for the event. All accepted papers will be published in the conference proceedings and will be available in an open repository in the community of WSL ( under a Creative Commons license: Attribution 3.0 unported (CC BY 3.0).

For each accepted paper, the authors must define the presenter. The presenter will receive a promotional code to register for free at FISL. Accommodation and transportation expenses are not funded by FISL or by WSL.

Best Paper Award

A committee will select the WSL best papers and the best one will be awarded. The authors of the finalist papers for the award will be invited to present a poster in the area of the FISL allocated to user groups. The selection of the best paper will be based on the evaluation from reviewers and on the quality of the presentation at the workshop (both paper and poster). The best paper will be announced at the WSL closing ceremony.

Important Dates

  • 05/07/2012: Paper submission (*EXTENDED*)
  • 05/09/2012: Paper update
  • 06/01/2012: Paper acceptance
  • 06/15/2012: Camera-ready paper
  • 07/05/2012: Finalists to the best paper award will receive instructions about the poster presentation
  • 07/25/2012 a 07/28/2012: FISL

Program Committee

Aaron Shaw, University of California, Berkeley, United States
Alexandre Hannud Abdo, Fundação Oswaldo Cruz, Brazil
Andre Leon S. Gradvohl, Universidade Estadual de Campinas, Brazil
Andrea Schwertner Charão, Universidade Federal de Santa Maria, Brazil
Antonio Terceiro, Universidade Federal da Bahia, Brazil
Björn Lundell, University of Skövde, Sweden
Carlos D. Santos Jr, Universidade de Brasília, Brazil
Carlos de Salles Soares Neto, Universidade Federal do Maranhão, Brazil
Christina Chavez, Universidade Federal da Bahia, Brazil
Daniel Batista, Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil
Fernando Castor, Universidade Federal de Pernambuco, Brazil
Fernando Osório, Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil
Gregorio Robles, Universidad Rey Juan Carlos, Spain
Henrique Parra, Universidade Federal de São Paulo, Brazil
Israel Herraiz, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain
Jesús M. González Barahona, Universidad Rey Juan Carlos, Spain
José Carlos Maldonado, Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil
Lisandro Zambenedetti Granville, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Luciana Tricai Cavalini, Universidade Federal Fluminense, Brazil
Luis Felipe Murillo, University of California, United States
Marcelo Finger, Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil
Marcia Pasin, Universidade Federal de Santa Maria, Brazil
Marcos Castilho, Universidade Federal do Paraná, Brazil
Marcos Sunye, Universidade Federal do Paraná, Brazil
Martin Michlmayr, Hewlett-Packard, United Kingdom
Paulo Meirelles, Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil
Rafael Evangelista, Universidade Estadual de Campinas, Brazil
Renata Galante, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Rivalino Matias Jr., Universidade Federal de Uberlândia, Brazil
Yuri Takhteyev, University of Toronto, Canada

Organizing Committee

General Chair

  • Fabio Kon (Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil)

Program Committee Co-Chairs

  • Daniel Batista (Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil)
  • Gregorio Robles (Universidad Rey Juan Carlos, Spain)

Local Arrangements Chair

  • Carlos Machado (SERPRO, Brazil)

Publicity Chair

  • Paulo Meirelles (Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil)

Publications Chair

  • Antonio Terceiro (Universidade Federal da Bahia, Brazil)